top of page

Manchester 7 Days down....


So this is just a short one ....but I'm in love already and I had to share. So work's Boom. My new office is nicer than the old one in The Wharf. Very similar - Media City in Manchester is just outside the centre. Like the Wharf, by admission of every native Mancunian I have had the pleasure to meet so far - the area used to be fully ghetto. Regeneration with the office towers, most recognisably the BBC and ITV studios means that whole area Quay-side is beaut. Theres a bridge over the river just like in the wharf. Fancy bars and outside places to eat by the water are abundant and very vibey.

When I arrived 7 days ago someone I had gotten very close to over the past two months who lived in Manchester already met me at my new apartment and took me down for food by my new office. I'll tell you more about him later. He's....not like most guys.

Work has been amazing so far too. My team and boss are Ideal. We went out thursday to a place called DockYard for one of their birthdays. The office group chat is lit everyday. And they have all made me feel right at home.

Friday I saw the guy I have been speaking too for ages again. He took me on the most amazing night out...presents/Bali Style Food in the most beautiful resturant, and then more drinks in Manchesters most insta-worthy Cloud 23 at the Hilton. Again I will tell you about this later but lets just say he spoilt the absolute glitter out of me and was a perfect gentleman........we arent speaking right now though. But I know he reads this blog. SO (code name) Rupert If you are reading this before we next talk then"Hi Sugar. I love my present btw"

Saturday I met my new flat mate and her friends at Trof in the Northern Quarter (NQ). Now if you haven't been to Manchester NQ is basically East London. So Fun. So Trendy. All the food is lush the drinks are full of happiness and unlike East London everyone smiles at each other. And with their eyes too. My flatmate and her mates (All hot, all blonde and all late twenties) went to this bar you can only find by following a secret map on Insta. It's not got a name and you just follow the clues and we found this door down some steps next to a tattoo shop. It looked like a dive but when you give the pass word and walk through past the bouncers it's AMAZING. All naughty photos of nudes and sexy cocktails. The booths in the dimly lit rooms have dial up phones that ring through to the bar and you can order drinks. And every party that stumbles down the steps looks round the venue like excited kids who found the christmas presents stashed ahead of the big day.

When we moved on we went to this place called Albert Slosh where the actively encourage women to dance on the tables when the good choons come on. And everyone is so lovely....Girls, guys and the gays. They have all been amazing. I havent got a bad word to say about the city so far. Today I went for my first Manchester Tinder date. I was more engaged with the food at Home Sweet Home than with the guy. He was nice enough but not for me. Again more details will follow.

And to round things off I love the flat. It was a big risk picking something without viewing it off spareroom, but its lush. A duplex really close to work and not far from all the action - I'm only here for a month so I need to get viewing and find something permanent but so far I'm so pleased I took the leap up North.

Already I can confirm that the people ......they just have soul. The city (from the little exploring i've fitted in so far) just hums softly with this buzz of warmth, in a way London never did. Everyone is just switched on too there surroundings and keen to make sure each other is okay. Maybe the recent events have honed it down. And I am sure there are some ass holes around. But i've not met one yet.

TTFN

Tinders

x


bottom of page